What is the capital of New Zealand?

The capital of New Zealand is Wellington. Wellington, located in the far south of the North Island, is the southernmost national capital in the world, but it is not the largest city in New Zealand. Its first name was Te Upoko o te Ika a Maui, translated as the head of Mauis fish, which is a reference to the legend of how the islands of New Zealand, or Aotearoa, were created.Wellington is the capital city of New Zealand.