What country located to the southeast of Australia is made up of two islands?

New Zealand is an island country about 2000 km, or 1250 miles, south-east of Australia, in the southern Pacific Ocean. Two large islands, called North Island and South Island, make up most of the country, which also includes numerous smaller islands.